Gaming 6 min read Mar 26, 2026

G2 Were Smurfing on GenG in Scrims All Along | BuyBoosting

Share:

G2 knew. While the rest of us were writing off the LEC and penciling GenG into another grand finals appearance, G2's coaching staff was sitting on scrim results that told a completely different story. And honestly, the fact that nobody outside that team house saw this coming says more about our collective bias than it does about G2's actual level.

The Scrim Gap Nobody Talked About

Dylan Falco went on Hotspawn and basically dropped the whole thing. His exact words were telling — he said their past games against GenG had "always been very competitive" and that their scrim form at this tournament "looked a lot better." He even said he came into the series thinking they had a "very good chance of winning, probably more than it looks like from the outside."

Read that again. The coach of G2 looked at the supposedly unbeatable GenG roster and thought: yeah, we've got this. That's not copium. That's data.

The thing is, scrims have always been this weird black box in League esports. Teams scrim each other constantly but the results almost never leak — and when they do, people dismiss them as meaningless because "scrims aren't stage." Which, sure. But scrim results aren't nothing either. They tell you about tempo, about draft tendencies, about which side of the map a team defaults to under pressure. And apparently G2 was reading GenG like a book.

GenG's Undefeated Problem

OK so here's what I think happened. GenG ran through Korea without anyone seriously challenging their systems. They were the diff in every lane, every draft, every mid-game rotation. Dominant doesn't even cover it — they were playing a different game than the rest of the LCK.

But that's also a trap, right?

When you're stomping everyone domestically, you stop getting tested in the ways that matter for international play. Your drafts don't get punished because nobody in your region has the player pool to exploit them. Your mid-game defaults work because opposing teams are already tilted from losing lanes. You develop blind spots and nobody in scrims is good enough (or bold enough) to show you where they are.

G2 was bold enough. And more importantly, G2 had the roster to actually make it stick. BrokenBlade continues to be arguably the most underrated top laner at international events — I've been saying this for two years and I'll keep saying it until people listen. The man consistently goes even or better against Korean and Chinese tops who are supposed to be miles ahead of him. Caps on his day is still a menace in mid lane. And when the whole team is clicking, G2 has this chaotic energy that Korean teams historically struggle to deal with.

Why Western Fans Should Pump the Brakes

Before anyone starts printing "G2 World Champions" t-shirts — calm down. Scrim results and one tournament don't erase the structural advantages that Korean and Chinese teams have. Better solo queue infrastructure, more competitive domestic leagues, coaching staffs that have been iterating on international prep for a decade. That stuff compounds.

But what Falco's interview does confirm is that the gap isn't a canyon anymore. It's a crack.

G2 specifically has closed the distance because they're one of the few western orgs that actually invest in the meta-game beyond "get good players and hope." Falco is a serious coach who builds actual systems — not vibes, not "let Caps cook" (well, sort of that too, but there's infrastructure around it now). The fact that they were scrimming GenG and coming away confident instead of demoralized? That's a culture shift.

Nah, I'm not saying G2 is suddenly the best team in the world. I'm saying they've built something that can genuinely compete on any given day against the best team in the world. And in a tournament format with Bo5s, that's all you need.

What This Means for Your Solo Queue

Here's where it actually gets relevant for the rest of us.

Watch the VODs from G2's series and pay attention to their wave management in side lanes. They're running a style where they concede early prio in exchange for better crash timings around objective spawns. It's not flashy, it won't get you Reddit clips, but it's genuinely one of the most abusable concepts in solo queue right now. Most players in Plat and Diamond have zero concept of when to slow push versus hard shove relative to dragon timers. G2 is doing this at the highest level and it's working against the best team in Korea.

The other thing worth stealing is their draft philosophy. They're not drafting for lane kingdom anymore — they're drafting for team fight angles at specific timers. That's a mindset you can bring into your own games even in solo queue. Stop thinking about "winning lane" and start thinking about "what does my comp want to do at 20 minutes." Wild that more players don't approach ranked this way.

Look, if you're grinding ranked and feel like you understand the macro but your teammates don't, I get it. Solo queue is a coinflip sometimes and no amount of wave management knowledge fixes the 0/7 top laner. If the grind is genuinely making you miserable, getting a boost past the chaos ranks isn't the worst idea. Sometimes you just need to be in lobbies where people actually play the map.

The Bigger Picture for 2026

This interview is probably going to get buried under highlight clips and post-match memes, but it shouldn't. What Falco revealed is that the preparation gap between regions is shrinking faster than anyone expected. Two years ago, a western coach saying "I thought we had a very good chance against GenG" would've been memed into oblivion. Now it's just... accurate.

The question is whether this is a G2-specific thing or a broader trend. I think it's mostly G2-specific right now. Fnatic isn't there yet. No NA team is remotely close (sorry). But G2 has proven that the blueprint exists — invest in coaching infrastructure, take scrims seriously as data instead of just practice, and build a roster that can execute multiple styles.

Other western orgs should be taking notes. They won't, but they should.

Prediction: G2 makes at least semifinals at the next international event, and they take a Bo5 off a Korean team. GenG specifically adjusts their scrim partners and becomes more selective about who they practice against heading into Worlds. And at least one more western team (my money is on a revamped Fnatic roster) starts copying G2's infrastructure approach by summer. The gap keeps closing. Not because the west got better overnight, but because G2 showed everyone the homework they weren't doing.

Need a Boost? Tell Us What You Need

Describe your boost in plain English — get offers from verified pros in minutes.