Gaming 5 min read Mar 29, 2026

Esports Orgs Still Aren't Paying Players in 2026 | BuyBoosting

Share:

It's 2026 and esports orgs still can't pay people on time. The NLC — that's the Northern League of Legends Championship for anyone who hasn't been keeping track — is the latest organization to get publicly called out for owing money to players, casters, and staff. And honestly, at this point I've lost count of how many "I didn't get paid" tweets I've seen this year alone.

This Keeps Happening

Every month it's the same cycle. Someone in the scene finally gets tired of waiting for a check that was due three months ago, posts a thread on Twitter, the community rages for 48 hours, and then everyone forgets. Until the next one.

The NLC situation is bad, but it's not unique. Not even close.

Look, the esports industry has a payment problem that goes way beyond one league or one region. We're talking about an entire ecosystem where people — talented people who grind insane hours — regularly don't get compensated for their work. Casters who prep for broadcasts and never see a dime. Coaches who build entire strategies for teams that ghost them when the invoice arrives. Players who put their careers on the line for orgs running on vibes and venture capital fumes.

One former NLC staffer said it best: they dream of working in esports full-time without being in "a continuous state of crippling anxiety." Think about that. The people making the content you watch are literally anxious about whether they can pay rent.

The Root Problem Nobody Wants to Talk About

Here's where it gets interesting. The issue isn't that esports doesn't generate money — some of it does, and plenty of it. The issue is that the money flows to the wrong places. Orgs raise millions in funding, blow it on content houses and merch drops nobody asked for, and then act shocked when they can't cover payroll.

Wild.

I talked to someone who worked operations for a mid-tier EU org last year (not naming who, they're still in the scene and would absolutely kill me) and they told me something that stuck: "We had a six-figure sponsorship deal and still couldn't pay our League roster on time because the CEO redirected funds to a crypto side project." In 2025. A crypto side project. You can't make this stuff up.

The thing is, this isn't just a management problem. It's structural. Esports orgs operate with basically zero accountability. There's no players' union with real teeth. There's no league-wide escrow system for salaries. There's no independent body that can say "you didn't pay your players, you're banned from competition." So orgs keep doing it because the consequences are... a bad news cycle? A Reddit thread with 2,000 upvotes that disappears in a week?

What This Means for You

OK so why should you, a person trying to climb ranked, care about org payment drama?

Because the talent pipeline that produces the pros you watch, the casters who make events worth tuning into, and the coaches who push the meta forward — that pipeline is broken. When talented people leave esports because they can't afford to stay, the quality of everything drops. Worse broadcasts. Worse competition. Worse content.

And if you're someone who's ever thought about going pro or working in esports? Nah, think twice. The dream is real but the infrastructure is held together with duct tape and broken promises. I mean, we're in an era where AI companies are throwing billions around and esports still can't figure out how to run payroll consistently.

For the rest of us who just want to grind ranked and enjoy competitive gaming — the scene's instability trickles down in ways you don't always see. Teams that can't pay coaches don't develop proper strategies. Leagues that stiff casters get worse broadcast talent. The whole product suffers.

The Solo Queue Parallel

There's honestly a weird parallel between the esports payment crisis and the solo queue experience.

In both cases, you're putting in work and hoping the system rewards you fairly. In ranked, sometimes you hard carry and still lose because your bot lane decided to run it down. In esports, sometimes you do incredible work and still don't get paid because the org decided to run it down financially. The difference is that in ranked, at least the LP system (mostly) works over time. In esports, there's no system at all.

If you're grinding League right now and the solo queue coin flip is driving you crazy, at least know that the frustration goes both ways — even the pros deal with a broken system, just a different kind of broken. And look, if your climb is stuck because of factors outside your control and you just want to enjoy the game at a rank that matches your actual skill, a boost to get past the variance is probably less stressful than waiting for Riot to fix matchmaking. Just saying.

Where This Goes From Here

Nothing changes until something forces it to change. That's the bitter truth. The NLC situation will blow over. Another org will get caught not paying people next month. The cycle continues.

The only things that could actually fix this are player unions with legal backing, mandatory escrow for salaries before a season starts, or — and this is the nuclear option — players collectively refusing to compete for orgs with payment histories. But that requires coordination, and coordinating a bunch of competitive gamers is arguably harder than herding cats.

Prediction: by June 2026, at least two more notable esports organizations get publicly exposed for nonpayment, nothing structural changes, and someone starts a GoFundMe for an unpaid caster that raises more money than the org owed them in the first place. Esports, man.

Need a Boost? Tell Us What You Need

Describe your boost in plain English — get offers from verified pros in minutes.